Study the Torah with Academic Scholarship

By using this site you agree to our Terms of Use


Persia’s Achaemenid Dynasty—If You Read the Bible Without History

Ezra-Nehemiah mentions only four of the twelve kings who ruled the Persian empire: Cyrus, Darius, Xerxes, and Artaxerxes. The book of Daniel also speaks of four Persian kings, and adds a fictional Darius the Mede as their precursor. Historically, the Achaemenid period lasted 220 years, but using only the kings mentioned in the Bible, rabbinic texts reconstruct a 52-year Persian period.

Dr. Rabbi

Zev Farber



No items found.